Shelf Styling: Mixing His & Hers

Jeff  likes nice things, I like nice things, but sometimes we don’t like each other’s nice things, and sometimes our nice things don’t like each other. Are you following me here?

For instance, Jeff loves this –

(okay, a small disclaimer – these may not all be that nice of things!) 

And he loves this little guy –

And I do not.

Now on the other hand, I do like things like this –

And like this –

But Jeff is not a fan of anything floral.

And we want our home to to reflect who we are and what we like, thus comes the hard part. The age old dilemma of mixing the masculine and the feminine.  What I have found is that it is very helpful to bring in pieces that we both like, such as nature inspired items, like this piece of drift wood we had originally bought for Jeff’s fish tank.

It’s a bit masculine with it’s sharp edges, but I really like it and would take it any day over that mini football helmet, sheesh! I have also found that a way to help give a more masculine vibe is sparsity. Keep it simple, the less crap you have shoved in those shelves, the more of an impact the items you do have displayed will have. For instance our bar shelf below –

Shelf Example #1

Top Shelf: Masculine driftwood balanced by a feminine display of wine glasses ( I suppose the wine glasses could be either masculine or feminine but I see them and the martini glasses as more feminine).

Middle Shelf: Martini glasses balanced by earthy pieces, like the rock, lol.

Bottom Shelf: Jeff’s picture frame with my flowers and and the flasks to balance out the extremely girly, pink flowers.

Shelf Example #2

Top Shelf: Books with the dreaded gargoyle!

2nd Shelf: Our neutral, nature inspired, Aloe plant.

3rd Shelf: Books with my floral painted clock.

4th Shelf: White vase, this piece is actually a neutral one, Jeff and I picked this out together.

5th Shelf: Books with the dreaded gargoyle’s twin, ahhh!

Bottom Shelf: The ever masculine, sub woofer.

I’m not an expert, but all in all I think it’s about the compromise and finding a way for our pieces to get along with each other, even if it means bringing in a mediator (like our piece of drift wood and aloe plant) to make sure everyone gets along!

Leave a Reply

